the maids

travel hard

The UN requires its staff to have a certain level of security in their homes. They won’t let you live somewhere in Harare if it doesn’t have a gate, electric fence, guard, and so on. So, partly because of this and partly because our dollar just goes farther, I live in a pretty nice place. It is a house of four people, and so long as one is okay with sharing the space with others, it is a good arrangement.

When it came time to make an offer on the monthly rent (everything is negotiable), I offered a number a bit lower than the asking price. I also said that I would not require the services of the maid, as I am able to cook and clean for myself just fine. I was ready to accept the place no matter what; I did not really need the monthly rent to be…

View original post 557 more words

Leave a Reply

